Hazard Analysis Critical Control Points (HACCP) & GMP

Hazard Analysis Critical Control Points (HACCP) & GMP

Managing food safety risks with hazard identification and controls.

Managing food safety risks with hazard identification and controls.

Red Overlay
Red Overlay

What is HACCP?

Hazard Analysis Critical Control Points (HACCP) is a risk management tool is primarily used to manage food safety risks. A HACCP system allows you to identify hazards and put in place controls to manage these throughout your supply chain during production. The HACCP scheme meets the requirements of the Codex Alimentarius Commission (CAC) – established by the World Health Organization and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations to bring together international food standards, guidelines and codes of practice to ensure fair trade. It can also be used to support the requirements of management standard requirements, such as ISO 22000 Food Safety Management.

What are the benefits of HACCP?

  • Implement internationally recognized food safety hazard controls
  • Give producers, stakeholders and suppliers confidence in your controls
  • Align HACCP with ISO 22000 to improve food safety management systems
  • Effectively manage food safety risks across the whole supply chain
  • Continually review and improve your system so it stays effective

5 Steps to HACCP & GMP Certification

We make the HACCP certification process simple. After we have received your application we appoint a client manager who will guide you and your business through the following steps.

  1. Download the free guide to BSI HACCP & GMP.

    HACCP & GMP Guide
    BSI's free guide contains information on the Standard, the types of hazards addressed in HACCP and a 12 step guide to producing your HACCP plan. The guide also details how to market your achievement to your customers, with the BSI HACCP & GMP Assurance Mark gained upon your business' certification.

    Click here to download the free HACCP & GMP guidebook.

  2. Understanding the requirements of the HACCP & GMP Standard.

    HACCP & GMP StandardOur experienced auditors say that reading and understanding the Standard to be certified against is a key part of achieving the desired outcome for any audit. The BSI HACCP & GMP Standard has two grading levels, 'Essentials' and 'Excellence'. Reading and understanding the BSI HACCP & GMP Standard’s requirements will help you to decide which level of certification you will work to achieve.

    Click here to download the BSI HACCP & GMP Standard.

  3. HACCP & GMP Self-Assessment/ GAP Analysis.

    HACCP & GMP Self-Assessment ChecklistOnce you understand the requirements of the HACCP & GMP Standard, you can use BSI's free HACCP & GMP GAP Analysis tool to perform an internal HACCP & GMP audit (HACCP & GMP 1st party audit).

    Click here to download the HACCP & GMP self-assessment checklist.

  4. Training courses.

    Our HACCP training course can be beneficial for anyone responsible for food safety management. Supervisors and managers within quality, technical or operations role in catering, retail and manufacturing industries may find BSI’s HACCP training course particularly useful. Find out more about our live online, classroom and in-company training options that can help you improve your skill level and advance and progress your career.

    View our HACCP Training Course here >

    Alternatively, if you need a little more help, we can put you in touch with a trusted consultant via our ACP Programme.

  5. Formal Assessment.

    Verify your achievement and formally certify to the BSI HACCP and GMP Standard, by participating in a third party audit with BSI. Once you’ve achieved certification, you can use your BSI HACCP & GMP Assurance Mark to demonstrate your achievement to your customers, and your competitors.