Developing a HACCP Plan

The sequence of applying a HACCP system comprises of 12 steps, which consists of 7 principles defined by the Codex Alimentarius Commission.

Before a HACCP system can be implemented, it is essential to create a HACCP plan to ensure the 7 principles of HACCP are applied correctly.

What are the Hazards?

All Hazards that the HACCP principles cover can be classed into three categories: biological, physical and chemical.

Biological Hazards: include hazards from pathogens such as bacteria, mold, viruses and yeasts. Bacteria such as Salmonella and E-coli are present in many inputs and need to be managed carefully.

Physical Hazards: include foreign matter such as glass, metal, wood and plastic being left in food from the production process.

Chemical Hazards: can be caused through the misuse of antibiotics, contamination of sanitizers or cleaning agents, or environmental contamination from hydraulic fluids.

The 12 Steps of a HACCP Plan

  1. Assemble the HACCP team
  2. Describe the product
  3. Identify intended use
  4. Construct a flow diagram
  5. On-site confirmation of flow diagram
  6. Conduct a Hazard Analysis (Principle 1)
  7. Determine Critical Control Points (CCP) (Principle 2)
  8. Establish critical limits for each CCP (Principle 3)
  9. Establish a monitoring system for each CCP (Principle 4)
  10. Establish corrective actions (Principle 5)
  11. Establish verification procedures (Principle 6)
  12. Establish documentation and record keeping (Principle 7)

View the BSI HACCP & GMP Certification Criteria below for more information.