ESMA certification scheme

ESMA certification scheme

ESMA certification scheme

Red Overlay
Red Overlay

ESMA logo
BSI is a notified body for ESMA, Emirates Body for Standardization and Metrology, for provision of ECAS certification which is mandated throughout the Emirates (UAE).

The ESMA certification schemes are implemented under Federal Law 28 and BSI are approved under the guidelines of the scheme to provide certification to gas and electrical manufacturers of the following categories of product:

  • Low voltage equipment and appliances
  • Personal protective equipment (PPE)
  • Electrical water heaters
  • Restriction of hazardous substances’ regulations
  • Gas hobs and cooking ranges

BSI has established a customer happiness centre in Oud Metha, Dubai to support manufacturers and traders in making applications for ECAS (Emirates Conformity Assessment Scheme) and EQM certification. In order to achieve the license to use the Emirates Quality Mark (EQM), BSI will carry out  a comprehensive evaluation of the product, as well as the quality system used by the manufacturer. This approach is similar to BSI’s Kitemark™ certification  scheme requirements, meaning existing BSI Kitemark holders will be able to comply.

Why work with BSI?

As a fully participating member of the CB scheme, and approved CBTL (CB Testing Laboratory) we can work with you to achieve CB certification. We can also work with you so you can identify the relevant local standards for your products.

We certify a range of electrotechnical products after they’ve been tested at one of our associated CBTL’s:

  • Electronic controls
  • Switches and automatic controls for household appliances
  • EMC (Electro Magnetic Compatibility) of products
  • Household equipment
  • Lighting – including luminaires
  • Measurement, control and laboratory equipment
  • Medical electrical equipment
  • IT and office equipment
  • Audio visual, information and communication technology
  • Cables and Cords
  • Electric vehicle chargers