National Disability Advocacy Program (NSDS-NDAP)

The National Disability Advocacy Program (NDAP) provides people with disability access to effective disability advocacy that promotes, protects and ensures their full and equal enjoyment of all human rights enabling community participation.

There are six broad models of advocacy offered under NDAP:

  • Citizen advocacy
  • Family advocacy
  • Individual advocacy
  • Legal advocacy
  • Self advocacy
  • Systemic advocacy

BSI is accredited to provide certification to the National Standards for Disability Services (NSDS) for organisations funded by the Department of Social Services to deliver NDAP. The NSDS comprise of six consumer centric standards. NDAP providers are required to achieve and maintain certification to these standards.

Assessments of disability employment providers are conducted by an audit team comprising at minimum of a Lead Auditor and a Consumer Technical Expert (CTE). At BSI, our team of NSDS auditors and CTEs have extensive knowledge disability advocacy models, quality and risk management in addition to extensive experience in assessing providers to the standards.