BRCGS Global Standard for Storage and Distribution (Issue 4)

The BRCGS Global Standard for Storage and Distribution covers all of the activities that can affect the safety, quality, and legality of food, packaging and consumer products during storage and distribution processes. This includes activities provided by contracted storage and distribution services.

The structure of this standard allows an organization to meet core risk-based requirements with the option to add on modules that address your specific business activities. There are eight core requirements for this standard:

  • senior management commitment
  • hazard and risk analysis
  • quality management system
  • site and building standards
  • vehicle operating standards
  • facility management
  • good operating practices
  • personnel


The following voluntary modules may be added for a range of wholesale activities and contracted services. 

  • Wholesale Module
  • Cross-Docking
  • E-Commerce
  • Contracted Services
      • Product Inspection
      • Contract Packing
      • Inspection
      • Contract Operations
      • Contact Containers
      • Waste Management


> Download flyer

Why choose the BRCGS food storage and distribution standard?

  • Globally recognized and GFSI benchmarked
  • Reduced audit burden (BRCGS certification is recognized by many retailers around the world, so a BRCGS-certified system may meet the needs of many of your customers)
  • Reduced complaints and rejected products
  • Increased customer confidence, opening new market opportunities
  • Clearly defined risk-based requirements based on due diligence requirements  

Who should use BRCGS storage and distribution standard?

The standard was created to support the needs of service providers for the storage and distribution of food and consumer goods. This includes organizations that:

  • Warehouse packaged or specified bulk and loose foods and consumer goods
  • Distribute and transport packaged or specified bulk and loose foods, and consumer goods
  • Any combination of the two types businesses that fall within the scope of the standard

The BRCGS standard for food safety takes a common sense, risk-based approach, providing organizations with a clear path towards achieving certification. Over 25,000 sites in more than 130 different countries have risen to the challenge of industry best practice food safety certification.

Supported by customers
Many retailers, food service companies and major food manufacturers around the world support the BRCGS Global Standard for Storage and Distribution as a core food safety standard and accept certification to this standard as a pre-requisite to their supplier approval process.

Developed by industry experts, the standard incorporates quality management systems and internationally accepted best practices to ensure the safety and quality of products during storage and distribution. It also features multiple optional modules to support flexibility for your business. 

Cost effective
Widely accepted certification reduces the need and expense of duplicate audits. Audits are completed by local BRCGS trained and approved auditors to enable an internationally accepted Standard to be audited at local rates.

The journey to certification

Whether you’re more concerned about meeting the requirements of your customers or protecting consumers, certifying to the BRCGS Global Standard for Storage and Distribution can drive meaningful change in your organization. From information to certification, no matter how far along you are, BSI can support your journey. Want to know more about the requirements of the standard, the steps to certification or how BSI is here to help? 

> Contact BSI