Barrie Reynolds – Leadership Award

Leadership award is given to Barrie Reynolds

Barrie Reynolds (left) receives his award from Shirley Bailey-Wood, Director of Publishing, BSI

Barrie Reynolds

Nominated by: Mrs Audrey Canning, Director, Virkonnen Ltd, GEL /65/1

Referees: Mr Brian Sprowell, GEL/ 65; Mr Ken Simpson, GEL/65/1; Mr William Black, GEL/65/1; Ms Snezhana Halacheva, GEL/65/1 Secretariat

Barrie Reynolds stepped down as Chairman of the GEL/65/1 committee, covering the generic aspects of systems used in industrial process measurement and control, in February of this year after performing the role almost fifteen years. During this time he has demonstrated outstanding leadership of the committee, successfully championing the Basic Safety Standard IEC 61508, "Functional Safety of Electrical, Electronic and Programmable Electronic Systems", as well as several other important sector specific industry standards. As the role of functional safety in industry has broadened to different sectors, he has recognised the need to maintain consistency between different sector safety standards, as well as the vital importance of common definitions, particularly where multiple regulations and standards apply to a single industry. He has sought to ensure broad and representative input from UK industry in the standardisation process, by engaging with Trade Associations and Engineering Institutions, and ensuring the maximum input from industry through consultation during the standards development process. This has resulted in the UK being recognised by its international peers for its effective approach to the commenting process. He has also encouraged the uptake of standards, working with the engineering institutions of the IET and BCS. Throughout his service as Chairman he has generously and proactively supported his colleagues on related committees. Barrie has led the Committee through a smooth transition in Chairmanship, from the recruitment of his successor through to providing coaching and mentoring in matters of governance, and is still actively involved with the Committee’s work in an individual capacity, providing valuable insight and advice to the new Chairman and Secretary.